Laura Secord - EPK

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Bandcamp - Black Circle

Why Not? Plötuútgafa announces the release of the debut album by LAURA
SECORD, Ending Friendships. The band will be co-headlining a release show with label-mates
Brött Brekka on January 23rd, 2020 at IÐNÓ.

Laura Secord is an international band based in Reykjavík, with members of several other Icelandic groups (kimono, World Narcosis, BSÍ) and originating from Iceland, Canada, the United States, and Germany.

The band’s sound digs deeply into the sound of 90’s indie rock, much as Alison’s previous band kimono did before, with a tight rhythm section overlapped with guitar riffs and vocals.


Laura Secord started as a direct result of the grassroots DIY/DIT (Do-It-Yourself/Do-It-Together) scene in Reykjavik.
In the lead-up to the formation of the group, all members of the band were participating in shows at the R6013 venue in downtown Reykjavik. That venue acts as a crucible for new musical projects with people switching roles and forming new bands frequently. 

Every member of the band is deeply involved in the Reykjavik music scene.

Drummer Ægir Sindri Bjarnason, runs the R6013 venue full-time as well as the record label Why Not? Records. He plays in several different bands and has done so since he was a teenager. He works incredibly passionately on these projects and is at the center of this grassroots scene.
Alison MacNeil, who sings and plays guitar, has lived in Iceland for 20 years and is better known from her previous band kimono, who were well-known in the Icelandic underground, releasing three albums over a 13-year period and touring in the US and Europe several times.
Erik DeLuca has been a visiting professor of sonic arts at Brown University (Rhode Island, US), but was previously in a post at the Iceland University of the Arts and is involved in seminars frequently with that school.
Julius Rothlaender is from Germany, but has lived in Iceland off-and-on for many years, participating in many different bands - all of which are connected to R6013.

The album is called Ending Friendships because, as the band puts it, “that’s what all the songs were about - the way people’s commitment to friendships has become so low-key that we end up ghosting each other rather than face that we’ve drifted apart. And how ending friendships is sometimes more difficult than ending relationships.”

The songs on the album are melodic and hook-driven as evidenced from the first two singles released from the album, "Crop Circles" and "I Thought, I Thought”.

Says Alison: “I’ve started to write songs that you can play on an acoustic guitar, but half this album comes from intensive sessions that the band had in their very earliest days testing each other out.”

Their vibe will be familiar to fans of Sonic Youth, Sebadoh, Smashing Pumpkins, Superchunk and other nineties bands that start with S.

Having a band with members living all over the place has forced the band to adopt a very strict work ethic. The entirety of this record was recorded in a cabin outside of Reykjavík in January 2019, a location that the band will be using to have a songwriting retreat once again this January before hitting the stage for the release show.

The band’s energetic live performances caught the ears of KEXP last year at Iceland Airwaves and the band was featured in their live broadcast at the festival this year (2019).

The band plans to tour in the US to support the record in the spring of 2020.

The cover of the album was put together from individual portraits done by the Polish artist Magda
Doborzyńska. The album has been pressed as a limited-edition LP with red vinyl and lyric sheet included.


1. Embrace

2. I Thought, I Thought

3. Aeroplanes

4. Sweat

5. Rock Star Suicide

6. Crop Circles

7. All Night Long

8. This Place is the Answer to a Question I’m Not Asking

9. Pornography for the Socially Aware

10. We Woke Up

Laura Secord are:
Ægir Sindri Bjarnason – Drums
Erik DeLuca – Guitar
Julius Rothlaender - Bass
Alison MacNeil – Guitar, Vocals, Production

Mixed by Ali Chant (Perfume Genius, Aldous Harding, Soccer Mommy)
Mastered by Bob Weston (Shellac, Polvo, etc.)


"Laura Secord taps into a guttural brooding with melodic hooks that will rattle in your head for
days. This is one of the most exciting bands coming out of Reykjavik right now.

- Dusty Henry (KEXP)

Guitar dissonances, clamorous riffs, grinding distortions, percussion explosions, sudden
changes of pace and mood lined with a punk ferocity... an incredible album from an equally
fantastic group
(Translated from Polish)
- Marcin Kozicki (Stacja Islandia)

"Feels like Red Kross covering Eric’s Trip...
- Michael Catano (Epic Magazine)


Óðinsgata 15

Reykjavík, Iceland



©2017 by Peer Agency.